Concepts & Terminology

There are several concepts and certain terminology that are used throughout SmartBuilder.  Because they are used in multiple locations, they are grouped together here as sort of "miscellaneous" collection.

Typically, a SmartBuilder user searching this help documentation will be linked directly to one of these child pages.  Going through these child pages linearly will be less coherent than some of the other topics in this documentation.

Clearing Cache

About the Browser Cache

In order to speed up web browsing, browsers are designed to download web pages and store them on your computer in an area called the cache (pronounced cash). When you visit the same page for a second time, the browser speeds up the display time by loading the pages locally from the cache instead of downloading everything again. This sometimes results in less than current versions of web pages being displayed, along with problems on registration and authentication pages.

Sometimes it is necessary to clear the cache in order to get access to the latest code.

How to Clear the Browser Cache

Select your web browser:

Internet Explorer for Windows

To find your version of Internet Explorer, click Help, then select About Internet Explorer. If you don't see the Help menu, press Alt to reveal the menus.

Internet Explorer 6:

  • Open Internet Explorer, choose the Tools menu, and select Internet Options.
  • Select the General tab.
    1st part of step 1.
  • In the Temporary Internet files section, click Delete Files. In the window that opens, check the box next to Delete all offline content, then click OK. Depending on the number of files, this could take anywhere from a few seconds to a few minutes.
  • Click OK to save your changes.
  • To be safe we recommend you close and reopen Internet Explorer.

Internet Explorer 7:

  • Open Internet Explorer, choose the Tools menu, and select Internet Options.
  • Select the General tab.
  • In the Browsing history section, click the Delete... button.
  • Click Delete files.... A window will open that reads Are you sure you want to delete all temporary Internet Explorer files? Click Yes. (Depending on the number of files, this could take anywhere from a few seconds to a few minutes.)
  • Click OK to save your changes.
  • To be safe we recommend you close and reopen Internet Explorer.

Internet Explorer 8:

  • Open Internet Explorer, choose the Tools menu, and select Delete Browsing History.
  • Check the boxes next to Temporary Internet Files.
  • Click the Delete button.
  • To be safe we recommend you close and reopen Internet Explorer.

Firefox for Windows & Mac

Firefox 3.5x for Windows:

  • Open Firefox, select the Tools menu, and choose Clear Recent History.
  • Under Time Range to Clear drop-down menu, select Everything.
  • Select Details and check the boxes next to Cache.
  • Click Clear Now.

Firefox 3.5x for Mac:

  • Open Firefox, select the Tools menu, and choose Clear Recent History.
  • Under Time Range to Clear drop-down menu, select Everything.
  • Select Details and check the boxes next to Cache.
  • Click Clear Now.

Safari for Windows & Mac

For Windows:

  • Click the Settings button in the right-hand corner of the browser window and select Reset Safari.
  • A box will appear that reads Are you sure you want to reset Safari?
  • Make sure that the checkboxes next to Empty the Cache (Deselect any of the items you don not want to reset.)
  • Click Reset.

For Mac:

  • Open the Safari menu and select Empty Cache...
    1st part of step 1.
  • In the window that opens, click Empty (or Empty Cache) to remove the saved files.

Chrome for Windows & Mac

For Windows & Mac:

  • Click the wrench icon in the right corner of your browser toolbar.
  • Select Tools.
  • Select Clear browsing data.
  • In the dialog that appears, select the checkboxes for the types of information that you want to remove.
  • Use the menu at the top to select the amount of data that you want to delete. Select the beginning of time to delete everything.
  • Click Clear browsing data.

Downloading and Delivery

Once a lesson or course has been published, you can download it.  You will get a .zip file that you can either extract or directly upload into an LMS (depending on the download options that you pick).

Note: If you try to launch the lesson without having unzipped (extracted) the package, then the lesson may not operate properly.

There are a number of download options that are available:

Download window

Meta-data window

Use the Meta-data window to name or rename Lessons, Courses, and Media & Assets.  You can also enter a Description, which will appear in the Details Pane, and Keywords, which can be searched by SmartBuilder.

Typically, one gets to the Edit Meta-data window when first creating or uploading content, or by selecting the content and clicking Meta-data or Manage > Meta-data in the top toolbar.

In addition, you can click on the Advanced View tab to see and change all the meta-data that can be viewed from an LMS.

Published vs Work In Progress

Work In Progress (or WIP for short) content is any lesson or course that you are still editing.

Published content means that content has been compiled into a single package and can be downloaded for distribution to learners.

Once a lesson or template has been published, it will disappear from your Work-in-Progress list.  This is normal.  Publishing will update your Published content with a new version.  To read more about versions and reverting to a previous version, go to the page on versions.

You can still re-open the lesson by going to the published lesson and clicking "Open".  If you do so, a new Work-in-Progress version will be created.  Your published version will remain in your Published Content folder regardless of whether or not a Work-in-Progress version exists.

Search

You can search from almost every folder on the Home Tree.

Shared Folders

You can share your content with others in two different ways:

Versions

Published content can have multiple versions.  A new version of a lesson or course is created every time a lesson or course is published.  For Media or Asset, a new version is created when that content is replaced.  When publishing or uploading, you can specify version comments.

By selecting the published content and clicking on Manage > Versions, you can launch the Versions window.

where to find the versions panel

From this window, if you click on any of the previous versions, you can view the Version Comments in the pane at the bottom.  Pro tip: Publish every so often (weekly, before major changes, or right after major changes) and be thorough with your version comments regarding what has been changed in case someone accidentally breaks or deletes important functionality.  Doubly important when multiple people own the lesson.

You can also effectively roll back to an older version, by creating a new authoring version from one of the old versions by selecting a version and clicking on the Make Authoring Version button.  This will create a Work In Progress version of the lesson from that published version.  Note: this will overwrite any curent WIP lesson.  You can open this WIP lesson and republish it to revert the lesson back to that version, or you can use File > Save As Copy to create a copy.

Only the last 15 versions of the lesson will be saved.